Good apps for tech newbies like me

 

457064183By Laurie Moffitt

I was lucky enough to spend some time over the holidays with my children and my nieces. They were lucky enough to be able to teach me a few things about my new iPad. I have been struggling with what kind of applications to download and how to determine if the available applications will work for me. I am not very knowledgeable about the internet or the iPad and the number of applications that are available can be overwhelming.  Here is a list and short description of free applications that I discovered were useful to me.

Google maps: If you are directionally impaired, like I am, this is a great travel application. Maps and turn by turn directions are provided for traveling by car, by foot, by bicycle or by bus. My favorite option allows me to map a trip that avoids major highways.

Cozi.com: This application allows you to organize tasks including your shopping and to do list. It is very handy to maintain my grocery list via the smartphone or the iPad.

Glasses.com: I am always frustrated when trying on new frames because I can’t see without my glasses. This application creates a three dimensional model of your face and allows you to virtually try on different frames for eyeglasses or sunglasses. The application creates a three dimensional video so it is really you, not an animated model.

Shazam: As a music lover, I often hear songs in a commercial or television program that I can’t identify. Shazam detects the music that is playing and provides you with the song title, artist and CD title.

Gibson learn and master: This is a great application for guitar players. It includes a metronome, electronic tuner, chords and lessons.

Springpad: This application allows you to organize electronic information and access it easily. It is a great way to organize recipes, projects or tasks.

Flipboard: This is a social news application the creates a magazine format of topics that interest you such as cooking, art, photography, music and includes the ability to see facebook and Instagram.

Sketchbook express: Turn your iPad into a sketch pad complete with pencil, paint and color applications.

I haven’t even considered game, music, art or photography applications. The list is endless and my time is limited, so today I will be happy with what I have already installed. Tomorrow I will search for movies, no music, maybe recipes…….

Happy apping!

This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

